> The Lounge     Printing     STARTT Heater decoupled error?
Heater decoupled error?
 STARTT   Started by Michael Sotelo   2017-10-21 01:05:07 +01:00   Comments: 10    Viewed: 3127

1. Hi there. This is my first time using a 3d printer. Im making it with my brother. I have no experience with any of this. Anywho, I am trying to heat the hot end when i get a "heater decoupled" message. My brother tried to heat up the nozzle while the plastic was in there. Is that a no-no? Also the printer when we try to print something will ram the left side of the printer as far as it can go a few times then raise itself as hi as it can go then it will act like its printing. What are we getting wrong. we have been baffled for days and google was 0 help. thank you for your responses
    Michael Sotelo, 2017-10-21 01:05:07 +01:00
  2. I got a heater decoupled message on my startt last night. I unplugged it, let the machine cool down to normal temps, and checked to make sure all electrical connections were secure. That resolved the issue. As far as the machine not knowing it's location, ensure that your limit switches are not moving on you (that the bolts securing them are very tight. especially the z-stop. Also look for the Startt Calibration video located on this website.

Hope this helps, I'm a newbie just like you.
    Seth Grimshaw, 2017-10-21 14:24:58 +01:00
  3. I should clarify that it wasn't heating up at all and we have never used it before. We never got it to work for the first time.
    Michael Sotelo, 2017-10-24 02:41:19 +01:00
  4. Hi, can you double check the connections of the heater block to the board, the one with two red wires, make sure that they are connected properly and in the correct location. Then manually heat up the hot end through the menus on the printer (preheat PLA/ABS) and see if the LED light on the PCB controller turns red to indicate heating.
    Ahmed Elibiary, 2017-10-24 17:50:10 +01:00
  5. JoeBloggs
    JoeBloggs Member